The Wheel of Time

by Brian Koberlein | 15 March 2018 | astronomy

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://blog.briankoberlein.com/wheel-time/

Hi Brian,

Nice article. I’m not a scientist but if the galaxies have the same rotation regardless of size, does that mean they were created using the same force? Something like fluid dynamics where multiple size rotations of about the same speed are created from a single source? https://i1.wp.com/www.princeton.edu/artofscience/gallery/images/94.jpg

It could mean that they are formed through the same process, such as a quick collapse early in the universe.

Hi!
I loved reading this.
Could something like inertia dragging exist?
(I am not a physicists, I love Mach principle and I don’t know why :slight_smile: !)
Mick.

I think I missed something. If the speed is the same regardless of mass (this is what i understand the new observation to be), how can you determine the overall size of the galaxy based on the speed of the stars on the edge of the galaxy (what you say at the end of the article)?

Light is observed to have a constant speed regardless of viewpoint. When we measure galaxy rotation, we’re really measuring the light we see from those galaxies. Is it possible that we are seeing some sort of relativistic effect? I.e., there’s an upper bound to how fast anything can appear move linearly (speed of light), so maybe there’s also an upper bound as to how fast things can appear to rotate, and galaxies exceed that boundary? Rotation speed being connected to brightness strengthens that idea in my head – the brightness being somehow the rotational equivalent of red/blue shifting for linear movement?